Garmin Edge 6075/705 – “Maps can’t Unlock” – Mapinstall Bug?

Garmin Mapinstall

Update 4/24/2010: See Installing/Updating Maps on Garmin Edge 705/605 SDCard with a Mac for instructions

Update 4/23/2010: First Successful update of Maps on my Edge 605, Woot!!! I’ll post how it is done. That might be useful to other Edge 705/605 owners until Garmin gets around to posting and hopefully improving in the future.

Update 4/22/2010: It is possible that problem may have been created because of the way Map subscriptions work. I’ll verify but my latest theory is that you may have to unlock every update not just the map set. I have 4 Garmin GPS units, all 4 units use the same map sets (City Navigator – North America), and I have 4 City Navigator Unlock Codes. Plus I have 2 City Navigator Map Subscriptions that provide quarterly updates. Keeping track of Update Codes is a PIA.

It is possible that each quarterly update also needs to go through the Unlock process. Apparently MapInstall doesn’t do that automatically. Here are Garmin Instructions on How to unlock Garmin maps. If I am reading correctly, You have to manually add the update code to MapInstall every time you get a Quarterly Update.

This could have been done in a much more User Friendly Way!!!

It is more than a little disheartening to call Garmin Tech Support because the standard greeting seems to be “your expected wait will be over 30 minutes”. That would send me to web site but I had already been there and saw no information to help with  the “Maps Can’t Unlock” error that was driving me crazy. Plus, I need it fixed before my Sunday ride and this is Friday afternoon.

Garmin Mapinstall Icon

When you click this icon, be very, very careful or you may have just lost a day of your life.

I have been here before after the last map update and reluctantly made any changes. But I am trying to plan for a tour of the C&O canal and need the maps for that area in my Edge 605 to check and see if my first attempt at Route development is working.

This is the second time after updating maps on my Edge 605 that I have had to make multiple calls to Garmin Tech support to solve the “Maps Can’t Unlock” Problem. Both time after several attempts, 30 minutes wait on hold before each attempt, the problem has been that Mapinstall is installing an incorrect code and we have had to change the code in the GPS Unit manually.

The Edge 605/705 is significantly different from my other three Garmin GPS unit and significantly less friendly. I consider myself a techie and I am frustrated; how can they consider this OK for the typical bike rider.

Like so many other computer providers, good hardware, OK software, an a system design that just doesn’t work for most users.

The Garmin Edge 605/705 just isn’t quite ready for prime time, most users should avoid it. Stick with the Garmin GPSMap 60 until Garmin fixes these system bugs.

One response to “Garmin Edge 6075/705 – “Maps can’t Unlock” – Mapinstall Bug?

  1. Pingback: garmin gpsmap·

Leave a comment