Finding a Bike Rack for my Nissan Cube

Swagman XC Cross-Country 2-Bike Hitch Mount Rack

I finally  gave up on trying to stick two bikes in the back of my Cube and after much searching I have found a great bike rack solution at a relatively reasonable price.

My initial debate was roof rack or hitch rack. I decide on a hitch rack for two reasons, easier accessibility and fear that my wife would forget the bikes were on top when she drove in to get coffee in the morning.

Swagman XC Cross-Country 2-Bike Hitch Mount Rack (1.25-Inch Receiver)

I was surprised after doing some research that the hitch rack that was popular with owners was not a brand I’d ever heard of but the Swagman XC Cross-Country 2-Bike Hitch Mount Rack (1.25-Inch Receiver).  Now that I have had the rack for a few weeks I have to agree, it is simple but does a great job of keeping the bikes stable even at highway speeds. I like the way the bikes are supported by their own wheels and clamped down onto wheel supports. No fear that my new bike will get scratched by the other bike. Clamping the bikes down that way keeps the front wheels pointed straight so the bikes can’t move. The rack also folds into a small package that can easily be stored or carried in the car.

The rack is available on Amazon for $119.99, Swagman XC Cross-Country 2-Bike Hitch Mount Rack (1.25-Inch Receiver), a good price compared to other racks and a rack that works well, recommended.

Note: the Amazon ad says for 1.25″ hitch only but my rack can set up for a 2″ hitch. By removing the adapter it also fits a 1.25″ hitch, the only size hitch available for the Cube.

I also had a Draw-Tite 1.25″ hitch installed on the Cube. The hitch fits onto the Cube beautifully. Much better that the standard UHauL hitch.

16 responses to “Finding a Bike Rack for my Nissan Cube

  1. We bought this rack about six months ago and like it a lot. No complaints. We have the locking hitch pin and a 6ft cable lock that we use to keep people honest when we run into stores or restaurants.

    Since it’s so hot this summer, the only cycling we’ve been doing is playing bike polo but it’s still handy! Easy on, easy off.

    • I also got the hitch pin lock and have a pad lock for the clamps … not sure how good the pad lock on the clamps will be. I was playing with a cable lock but think you are right I probably need a longer cable.

      It does seem very handy and I love how small it is when all folded up.

  2. Oh… check the bolts under the rack from time to time, they can work themselves loose. If that happens, then the part of the rack with the bikes on it will separate from the part attached to the car (c:

  3. Hey Roland my husband and i just got 2 mountian bikes and also have a 2010 nissan cube … i was wondering where you got your actual hitch from… thanks

    • Got a Draw Tite 1″ hitch. They make great hitches that are custom fit for the Cube. Draw Tite dealer did a nice job on install.

  4. Hi Roland,
    Thank you for the info on the bike rack and hitch!!

    I live in Chattanooga and am looking at purchasing a 2011 Cube very soon. I have done some other searches on this rack and it gets very good reviews. My question is about the hitch. Is this something I would buy and let my LBS install or the car dealership? I did a quick search for a local Draw Tite dealer but didn’t see one. I trust my LBS more with a new vehicle than I do a car dealership with “bike stuff” 🙂 Any ideas would be greatly appreciated. Also, how do you like your Cube?

    Thank You,
    Shannon

    • We love our Cube, best seats ever… Good milage and fun to drive. Your LBS my be able to recommend a hitch dealer just stay away from UHaul.

  5. What size tires are on your bikes? I’m trying to figure out what size tires will fit on the rack. Thanks in advance

    • 26 X 1.75 and 700 X 25C … not really an issue, loops are big enough for any tire and their spacing is adjustable for any frame size. The bike will probably be a little longer than the width of the Cube.

  6. Thanks so much for posting this Roland. I have a 2009 Cube and was wondering if I could get a bike rack for it. You’ve saved me a lot of research. Question – do you have to take the bikes off in order to open the back door?

    • You have to remove the rack to open the rear door … not a big problem, rack folds nicely and fits easily in back. But you won’t be opening the rear door with the a bike or the rack in place.

  7. Thanks for doing the research on this!
    Sounds like a heckuva deal compared with
    the more expensive brands.
    I plan on ordering one and going with the Draw Tight hitch per your recommendation.
    I will post again after having used it.

Leave a Reply

